Trending News

Blog Post

Oyegun Out, Oshiomhole In As New APC chairman

Oyegun Out, Oshiomhole In As New APC chairman 


The APC has experience bad leadership under the watch of John Odigie-Oyegun. Soon after the APC emerged victorious in the 2015 election, the success of 2015 general election became too fragile for the party to handle, obvious the party came unprepared to manage possible emerge crisis. State Governors picked fights with Senators, the party’s consensus candidates lost leadership roles on the floor of the Senate and the House; and the APC lost the confidence of the people who voted it in at the center. Finally, the much awaited APC was held today as Adams Oshiomhole became the new party chairman unopposed.
Chairman of the APC National Convention Planning Committee, Abubakar Badaru, who presided over the convention, announced that Adams Oshiomhole was the only person contesting the position of national chairman.
He said, “Adams Oshiomhole has been returned unopposed for the position of national chairman, there will be no election. So, I will ask you if you affirm him as chairman, you answer ‘affirm’ or say ‘aye’ when I ask for affirmation.”
Badaru then asked the delegates if they would affirm Oshiomhole as the party’s national chairman and they all chorused “affirmed.” He then announced the former Edo State Governor as returned unopposed.
None of Oshiomhole’s former opponents was sighted near the stage when Badaru made the announcement.
Three persons namely: Prof. Osareimen Osunbor, Clement Ebri and Ibrahim Emokpai, who earlier expressed interest in contesting against Oshiomhole, pulled out of the race before the convention.

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *