Trending News

Blog Post

17 APC Governors to Face Direct Primaries, 18 Indirect Says NWC

17 APC Governors to Face Direct Primaries, 18 Indirect Says NWC 


THE National Working Committee (NWC) of the All Progressives Congress (APC) has approved direct primaries for Lagos, Edo, Kano and 14 other states as well as the Federal Capital Territory (FCT).
Kaduna and 18 other states are to conduct their primaries through indirect mode.
With the development, the fate of four second term-seeking governors of the party will now be determined through direct primaries.
Those affected are Governors Akinwumi Ambode (Lagos); Abdullahi Ganduje (Kano); Mohammed Abubakar (Bauchi) and Abubakar Sani Bello (Niger).
Others, who might be subjected to direct primaries, are the favoured candidates of Governors Rochas Okorocha, who is presenting his son-in-law, Uche; Abdulaziz Yari; Ibikunle Amosun; the Minister of Women Affairs Hajiya Aisha Alhassan and Mr. Nsima Ekere, who is the anointed choice of ex-Governor Godswill Akpabio.
But with the adoption of indirect primaries, some governors and party leaders, desirous of second term ticket or imposing their successors, might take advantage of the party structure for easy ride.
These are Simon Lalong (Plateau); Jibrilla Bindow (Adamawa); Nasir el-Rufai (Kaduna); Abubakar Badaru (Jigawa); Aminu Bello Masari (Katsina); Atiku Bagudu (Kebbi); Umar Tanko Al Makura (Nasarawa); Abiola Ajimobi (Oyo); Kashim Shettima (Borno) and Ibrahim Geidam (Yobe) among others.
The details of the outlook of the primaries are contained in a statement by the APC Acting National Publicity Secretary of the party, Mr. Yekini Nabena.
The statement said: “The NWC of the APC has approved the mode of primaries for Saturday, September 29th, 2018 governorship primary elections scheduled to hold across the 36 states of the federation and the Federal Capital Territory (FCT).
“Resolution on mode of primaries to be adopted: Abia (Direct); Adamawa (Indirect); Akwa Ibom (Direct); Anambra (Direct); Bauchi (Direct); Bayelsa (Direct); Benue (Indirect); Borno (Indirect); Cross River (Direct); Delta (Indirect); Ebonyi (Indirect); Enugu (Indirect) Edo (Direct); and Ekiti (Direct).
Others are Gombe (Indirect); Imo (Direct); Jigawa (Indirect); Kaduna (Indirect); Kano (Direct); Katsina (Indirect); Kebbi (Indirect); Kogi (Indirect); Kwara (Indirect); Lagos (Direct); Nasarawa (Indirect); Niger (Direct); Ogun (Direct); Ondo (Direct); Osun (Direct); Oyo (indirect); Plateau (Indirect); and Rivers (Indirect).
Also affected are Sokoto (Indirect); Taraba (Direct); Yobe (indirect); Zamfara (Direct) and FCT (Direct).
“The NWC has banned the Adamawa State Working Committee from participating either as delegates or superintendents over the governorship primaries holding in the state. This is due to the fact that the Adamawa State Working Committee was prejudiced in favour of a governorship aspirant.”
Speaking with our correspondent last night, Nabena said: “We did not impose the choice of primaries on any state. The State Executive Committee of APC in each state wrote to the NWC on preferred model and we looked at their reasons and we adopted what they wanted.
“The NWC looked at the reports from each state and acted accordingly. There was no imposition.”

Related posts

Leave a Reply

8 − 6 =

Required fields are marked *