Trending News

Blog Post

386 sites in 25 States peg for grazing reserves

386 sites in 25 States peg for grazing reserves 

 3,275 Total Views

President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the recommendation of a committee on the review of 368 grazing sites across 25 states of the federation.

He directed the committee to among other things, “determine the levels of encroachment and carry out its assignment with dispatch.”

According to a statement by his Senior Special Assistant on Media and Publicity, Mallam Garba Shehu, the President’s directive followed his approval of the recommendations of the panel chaired by his Chief of Staff, Prof. Ibrahim Gambari.

Among others, the committee recommended the collection of field data collection on 368 Grazing Reserves across 25 states to assess encroachment and encroachers, stakeholder engagements and sensitisation.

The committee also recommended production of maps and geo-mapping/tagging of sites, analysis of findings and report preparations as well as design appropriate communication on grazing reserves and operations.

The number of the grazing reserves and states were deduced from considerations of existing security concerns and other pre-existing socio-economic conditions.

The President directed that the assignment be undertaken with dispatch to bring more understanding on grazing reserves and implementation.

Members of the committee include: Kebbi State Governor Abubakar Atiku Bagudu, who doubles as Vice Chairman, National Food Security Council; Ebonyi State Governor David Umahi, who is Chairman of the National Economic Council (NEC) Sub-Committee for National Livestock Transformation Plan (NLTP); ministers Suleiman Adamu (Water Resources); Sabo Nanono (Agriculture & Rural Development); Mohammad Mahmood Abubakar, , (Environment) and Deputy Chief of Staff Ade Ipaye.

The Technical Sub-Committee consists of representatives from the seven members of the main committee in addition to representatives from Ministry of Justice, Surveyor-General of the Federation, National Agricultural Land Development Authority (NALDA) and National Space Research Development Agency (NASRDA).


Related posts

Leave a Reply

4 × five =

Required fields are marked *